DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers Lowest Price Guaranteed, Free Delivery, Free 3 Year Warranty
Go Back   DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers > Artist & Member Forum > User Reviews
Forgot Password? Join Us!
Home Register Groups FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Go to DV247.com
New to Forums or just joined? Why not start your journey here?

User Reviews Drop in & Check out 'real world' user reviews on some top pro-audio gear

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th March 2009 , 01:53 PM
Administrator

Thumbs up EKS Otus Review

EKS Otus DJ Controller
Tested with N.I.'s Traktor Pro

Otus at DV
Traktor Pro at DV

Overview
I've been using laptop DJ solutions for a few years now, but I never went the time-code vinyl/cd route, and until late '08, had not found a controller I wanted to invest in that had the features and functionality I desired. Then along came Finish company EKS with their Otus. I'd seen the smaller XP5 and XP10 models that did indeed catch my attention, but still I waited to see what was around the corner.

The Otus looked incredible, a real design icon, and it's designed to sit on top of a record deck should the need arise (see pic). It's light (at 2kg), though solidly well made, with good quality knobs and buttons, plus a unique spin 'n click circular affair above all four legs. The machine is finished in a matt & gloss black combo and illuminates with multi placed led's in orange, and then green (depending on which deck is highlighted for control). There is a large (7.5") CDJ style platter at the centre of the unit to take care of cueing, +/- pitch adjustment and fast search back and forward through your audio files. The futuristic design of the Otus also accommodates, an X/Y pad (for mouse control or FX), a relative pitch slider and touch sensitive pads