DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers Lowest Price Guaranteed, Free Delivery, Free 3 Year Warranty
Go Back   DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers > Music Equipment Discussion > PA Systems & Live sound
Forgot Password? Join Us!
Home Register Groups FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Go to DV247.com
New to Forums or just joined? Why not start your journey here?

PA Systems & Live sound PA speakers, mics, monitors, power amps, mixers and lighting solutions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th September 2008 , 04:08 PM

Default complete novice needing help

I need to put on a DJ set soon, and I'm not a DJ. My band stores our equipment at my local church, so I said I would use the speakers from the PA system to put on the set for a function happening next week. Last year when I did this, I connected my laptop (through the phones output) through stereo cables, to a powered mixer, which played through to PA system speakers. It lead to some truly horrible sound. I canceled out a lot of the reverb, but the signal wasn't great.
This year I hope to deliver better, even though yet again I haven't much time.

I have a laptop (with no sound card), and a PA system (an Old powered mixer connected to 2 x Monitors and 2 x standing speakers). I have to use my MP3 collection.

Can someone suggest on the many ways I can proceed?

I was thinking I could use an external USB connected sound card, and connect that to the Mixer with stereo cables. Is this a cost-effective solution that will improve the sound quality? or I can find an old computer and install an (internal) sound card on that, an transfer my files over, if that will improve the sound quality. I also have a 60 W bass amp (for bass guitar), if the suggestion for the playback is 2.1 or 4.1, could this be connected?

Thanks for the help, I'll admit I don't know what I am doing
Rockylink85 is offline Offline