DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers Lowest Price Guaranteed, Free Delivery, Free 3 Year Warranty
Go Back   DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers > Artist & Member Forum > Off Topic
Forgot Password? Join Us!
Home Register Groups FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Go to DV247.com
New to Forums or just joined? Why not start your journey here?

Off Topic Drop in for friendly banter and lively debate

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th September 2008 , 12:03 AM
Forum Idol

Default Who's actually studied music

so im getting this very daunting feeling im the only guy to have never been to college or uni and even studied music at any level and any aspect of music other than reading books i bought on line, is it just me or are there others in the boat with me being completely self taught starting to feel left out
and for those that have studied through bodies such as colleges and universities what exactly did you study musically?

and no smart @rse replies like "iv studied in the school of life" or better still "hard knocks"
http://twitter.com/djsureno
sureno is offline Offline
Old 14th September 2008 , 12:15 AM
Keeper o' the Keys!

Nope you're not the only one... never been to any establishment to study music. I had private keyboard tuition for a little while (many years ago)... the guy was really good, geared the lesson to the genres I wanted to play and threw in some songwriting and arrangement tuition along the way. Apart from that though, I am completely self-taught. I have sometimes thought i would be cool to go do a one-to-one tuition session with a studio engineer and be able to pick his (or her!) brain and get them to show you how they do things and compare that to your own practices, then adopt a blend of the best of both.
Old 14th September 2008 , 12:32 AM
Forum Idol