DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers Lowest Price Guaranteed, Free Delivery, Free 3 Year Warranty
Go Back   DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers > Music Equipment Discussion > Computer Hardware
Forgot Password? Join Us!
Home Register Groups FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Go to DV247.com
New to Forums or just joined? Why not start your journey here?

Computer Hardware Audio interfaces, MIDI interfaces, control surfaces, MIDI controllers & USB MIDI keyboards (not motherboards or system components)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th May 2013 , 09:52 PM

Default Which interface for digital and analog recording?

Hello,

Im somewhat new to digital recording having remained quite happy using a old tascam 488mkII tape 8-track for a couple of years... recently ive been wanting to expand my recording possibilities and maybe incorporate a little digital recording/tweaking especially when it comes to putting down drums..

the 488 i use has two xlr inputs for the whole unit and 1/4 inputs for each of the 8 tracks... im looking for an audio interface with between 4 and 8 (ideally, combo XLR (preamped?) and 1/4) inputs and with the same number of outputs - my technical know how is pretty limited so just to be clear i would like to be able to plug 4 xlr mics into the interface and then record each separate signal to four separate tracks on the tascam...

my friend has an alesis iO26 which does this exactly - the bonus being he can also feed recordings from a four-track into logic as separate tracks - however the alesis has been discontinued it seems...

ive been looking a lot at the akai eie pro,

[url]http://www.akaipro.com/eiepro[/url]

but can't tell if the four output jacks on the back of the panel will let me do this, or if they designed to send the combined signals from each four inputs to multiple monitor speakers???