DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers Lowest Price Guaranteed, Free Delivery, Free 3 Year Warranty
Go Back   DV247 Forums - A Global Community for Music Makers > Music Equipment Discussion > Computer Hardware
Forgot Password? Join Us!
Home Register Groups FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Go to DV247.com
New to Forums or just joined? Why not start your journey here?

Computer Hardware Audio interfaces, MIDI interfaces, control surfaces, MIDI controllers & USB MIDI keyboards (not motherboards or system components)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th August 2008 , 12:32 PM

Default PC or MAC

Ive been learning to produce now for about 18 months..all self taught. Mainly electonic/dance based music.

MY current Daw is live 7 with NI komplete synths & a few other plugins.
My PC cant cope any more with the CPU demand (its 3 years old) & I need to upgrade.

Now for the killer decision...

Do I buy another PC, maybe from intaudio & stay with Live

Or

Do I buy a mac pro for a bit more cash & trade in live for Logic?

I was chatting to Chris Lake on facebook & he reckons that he only uses Live, as does Deadmau5 & sebastian Leger.

Are Macs really that good & is Logic better than Live?
Benoit is offline Offline
Old 12th August 2008 , 12:36 PM
ndk

Ok guys, please do not turn this into another 'PC vs Mac' slanging match or it will get closed. So play nicely.
Old 12th August 2008 , 12:40 PM
Keeper o' the Keys!

Mac vs. PC is always going to be a hot debate. Traditionally Mac has always had the edge in terms of reliability due to it's "closed" design and some people find the Mac OS easier to use... personally I find PC easier, but I've used PCs for years.